What are the Nevada laws concerning wages and overtime, and what can I expect in the future?
Under current Nevada law, minimum hourly wage for most workers is $8.25– or $1.00 more than the federal minimum wage. However, the $7.25 minimum wage still applies to workers who are offered health insurance benefits by the employer. As well, overtime is payable to any employee who makes less than one and one-half times the minimum wage (either $12.38 or $10.88, depending on the situation). For employees in this category, overtime payments are due on wages earned beyond eight hours in 24-hour period. For employees earning more, overtime is still due for time worked beyond 40 hours in one workweek (unless the employee agrees to work four 10-hour shifts). In any event, overtime wages are calculated at one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay.
In April, 2015, a proposed bill was introduced to the Nevada General Assembly for consideration by the Assembly Commerce and Labor Committee. Under the provisions of SB 193, minimum wage for employees who are not offered health insurance would rise to $9.00 per hour, while minimum wage for those offered insurance would remain at $7.25.
However, the bill also works to repeal the special overtime provision already in place that requires employers to pay overtime to higher-earning employees working beyond 40 hours in one work week. The overtime requirements for lower wage earners working longer than eight hours in a single day would remain in place, however.
Cheers and jeers
The proposed legislation was lauded by several employee-rights groups, who pointed out that many low-earning Nevadans without health insurance are capped at 30 hours per week in employers’ attempts to curtail the effects of the Affordable Care Act. According to one Nevada lawmaker, the proposal would actually allow employees to take home more money at the end of the pay period.
By contrast, several Nevada  businesses have protested the minimum wage hike, stating that it would result in increased prices and decreased employment positions. In the words of one Reno-area sandwich maker, “[i]ncrease the minimum wage, and you'll have kiosks instead of cashiers.”
If you are starting a business or would like to know more about employment laws in Nevada, please contact the experienced Las Vegas business law attorneys at the Stone Law Offices by calling 877-905-0890 today.